Baking therapy, another caffeinated post

Baking been always something that enjoy doing whenever I have some free time or whenever I have a friend visiting or nowadays when I come back from work and I feel that I need a break from my laptop screen. Nothing beats having some quite time, good music and the cozy smell of a yummy chocolate cake in the oven.

Yet I do believe that for your cake to taste delicious and to avoid burning it you need to be in a good mood.

Scientifically, research shows that baking has a therapeutic value which helps to ease depression and anxiety for the following reasons:

  1. COOKING IS MEDITATIVE, as its an activity that takes our whole attention.
  2. BAKING STIMULATES THE SENSES, we use all of our sense while baking or cooking in general, touching the ingredients, the cake mixer noise, tasting and the lovely smell of the different ingredients( chocolate, coffee, vanilla and cardamom my favorite). All those experiences increases feel-good endorphins.
  3. NOURISHING ACTIVITIES FEEL GOOD
  4. BAKING IS CREATIVE, based on psychology there is a strong connection between creative expression and overall wellbeing. Personally I feel awesome when I succeed in baking or decorating a cake that ends up in a beautiful shape and taste.
  5. MAKE OTHER PEOPLE HAPPY, my favorite part of baking is when I share it with my family, friends and colleagues.

With that being said I thought of sharing with you a recipe for a cake that I been enjoying baking and eating =p

I went to one my favorite coffee spots in town and I was wondering if I shall try the banana bread or the Mocha loaf and the barista suggested the Mocha loaf, its was soooo yummy. Hence once I went back home I search for the recipe and backed it.

It’s a rich chocolaty cake infused with coffee and chunks of walnuts and I can imagine that adding some chocolate chips will make it even better.

Here is the recipe for the yummy mocha loaf

Ingredients:

1/3 cup butter

1 cup of sugar

2 eggs

½ cup milk

Vanilla

3 shots of espresso ( or half cup of strong coffee)

1 cup of flour

½ cup of raw coco powder

2 table spoons of Greek yogurt or sour cream

Salt

Baking powder

Cinnamon

Walnuts

  1. In a cake mixer, first cream the butter and sugar
  2. Add the eggs and vanilla
  3. Add the dry ingredients and the milk
  4. Add the coffee  and the sour cream or yogurt
  5. Using a spoon or spatula add the walnuts and mix
  6. Pout the mix in a greased baking pan and bake it
  7. Enjoy it with a lovely cup of cappuccino

It seems like for a coffeeholic even my cakes needs to have a  good amount of caffeine in it, but there is a saying that goes like “behind every successful woman is a substantial amount of coffee”.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend friends!

Reem

 


أضف تعليق